October 6, 2010

  • Do I look like a cab driver to you? How about an ATM?


    The first person I met on my own in my apartment community was a neighbor who lives with her mother and son upstairs. She was asking me if I was going to be home or not because a man from X-cel Energy was coming to pick up a check for her electric bill. She offered to leave me her Driver’s license to hold with the check for collateral. Unfortunately, I was headed with Jake to Colorado Springs to visit my family. I had actually been back and forth to several groceries stores to find a birthday cake for my sister with all of the cute extras (i.e. Hello Kitty sugar candies and candles). I said I couldn’t and that was the end of it. She left to go figure it out on her own. Jake gets home and starts packing his things. We are standing in the kitchen talking about our day and work and getting ready to head out the door. I was just telling Jake about the woman who approached me when we hear a knock on the door. It’s her! She asks if one of us can take her to the bank to cash her check. Jake takes her as I get the last of the stuff ready. When Jake gets back, he says they tried her bank and several check cashing places, all of which wouldn’t cask a third party check from her mother. In the end, Jake just gave her $40 to cover everything and said she could pay him back when she had the money in a week. Unfortunately, the next week rolled around and no money. The week after that, Jake and I were sitting down for lunch when we heard a knock at the door. It’s our neighbor again asking for a ride to the bank. I decide to take her this time so that Jake can finish his lunch and get ready for work. We get there, she goes into the bank, and I wait in my car. She comes out empty handed, so we drive home. This has since happened twice. The exception is the very last time, today, where I took her to Safeway to cash a check from her ex for child support. The check doesn’t work or something. To top it off, she walks out of the Safeway with a bottle of soda, telling me she would have gotten me one if she had known what I liked. So, I once again had taken her to a bank in my car using my gas just to give her the benefit of the doubt. The saddest part of this story is that I have seen her frequently walking around our neighborhood by herself, on her cellphone, during the day. I have also seen her trolling our parking lot for people who are about to go somewhere, asking them for a ride. I knew I was being played the second time she asked for a ride.

    She makes it difficult for me to believe that people who ask for help are being genuine. I think that everyone struggles at one time or another with this question, with whether or not the trust they put in other people is warranted or not. I have decided that the next time she comes to the door I will ask her where she needs to go and go into the bank or store with her. Then, I can stand next to her and get the $40 she owes us once and for all. I have also decided that getting that $40 isn’t really that important. At this point, I’d rather not be used by her for a ride somewhere, especially if her excuse is cashing a check for money she owes me to begin with. Jake works very hard for his paycheck every week. I still have not been able to find a job since moving here. I want to help someone in need, but beggars should not be choosers.

    Have you ever had someone who constantly mooched off of you? What did you do?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *